The spell does not only effect those individuals directly attacking the caster, it effects everyone. What it does not stop are area affects not aimed at the caster but that include the caster. Interesting time for a change in the way the spell has been played in Trilogy.
Also, the cloak of displacement makes all first targeted attacks miss unless the attacker has seen another attacker miss first. Should have had that lightning bolt sizzle harmlessly through a spot Cor was not standing in.
All is good, we will still get that black robe.
Posted on 2013-04-12 at 15:24:19.
Edited on 2013-04-12 at 15:35:42 by Keeper of Dragons
Come now Keeper you should know better then to argue a spell or an item as I have the Comp program at my finger tips. Also this is the first time you have attempted to use the spell to gain a sneak attack on an opponent with a high INT and thus a high save vs spells.
When the priest casts a sanctuary spell, any opponent attempting to strike or otherwise directly attack the protected creature must roll a saving throw vs. spell. If the saving throw is successful, the opponent can attack normally and is unaffected by that casting of the spell. If the saving throw is failed, the opponent loses track of and totally ignores the warded creature for the duration of the spell. Those not attempting to attack the subject remain unaffected. Note that this spell does not prevent the operation of area attacks (fireball, ice storm, etc.). While protected by this spell, the subject cannot take direct offensive action without breaking the spell, but may use non-attack spells or otherwise act in any way that does not violate the prohibition against offensive action. This allows a warded priest to heal wounds, for example, or to bless, perform an augury, chant, cast a light in the area (but not upon an opponent), and so on.
Cloak of Displacement: This item appears to be a normal cloak, but when it is worn by a character its magical properties distort and warp light waves. This displacement of light wave causes the wearer to appear to be 1 foot to 2 feet from his actual position. *Any missile or melee attack aimed at the wearer automatically misses the first time. This can apply to first attacks from multiple opponents only if the second and successive attackers were unable to observe the initial displacement miss. After the first attack, the cloak affords a +2 bonus to protection (i.e., two classes better on Armor Class), as well as a +2 bonus to saving throws versus attacks directed at the wearer (such as spells, gaze weapon attacks, spitting and breath attacks, etc., which are aimed at the wearer of the cloak of displacement).
*Missile = Arrows, Axes, Darts etc…. Not spells. As stated above you get a +2 bonus to saves vs. spells after the first attack. I have always played the cloak as such. Feel free to go back over the game pages and find an instance where I have not done so or not corrected it once told. In this case I am correct as the diameter of a Lightening Bolt spell can be widened to encompass a wide enough area to still hit you, cloak or not.
Posted on 2013-04-12 at 21:06:55.
Edited on 2013-04-12 at 21:12:42 by TannTalas
I even gave a deathblow per-say, and the DM did over the phone when we talked about it. But when it comes down to it… An unconscious victim, a slice across the throat, a deathblow in any other game is not as it seams here.
When will you people learn, we will never be the hero until we are on the doorsteps of death and then it will only be through his benevolence will we live to see another day.
Ok Kyle looks like I need to correct you also. Below is your post as you thought it happened. First no where do you say you CUT HER THROAT only she gurgles in her blood.
Second this is the way you as a player want it to go however I as the DM roll the dice and determine if it happens that way. Many times things you want to happen don't due to dice rolls or some other unknown factor at the time.
Yes you caught her by surprise, yes you stabbed her and dropped her to the ground. Did you see the gurgling blood, no, as she was not dead. Did you state you checked to make sure she was dead, no you did not. She allowed you to think she was dead to gain her sneak attack on you to return the favor. She like the creatures the rest of the party are fighting is a Bhut not THAT easy to kill.
Maggot locked eyes with the figure in the mud. The sadness of her face, the pleading for help, the longing to be from this place. The innocence of her look, she reminded him of his own wife all so many years ago. The moment was broken by the gurgling sound of the little girl drowning in her own blood as it pooled in her throat. Maggot cleaned the blood from his dagger as he held her gaze. ‘Go from this place, evil has hold of you no longer. If you were truly innocent?’
As life left the small body Maggot turned his attention to the next figure about twenty feet away, his hand once again fell upon the heavy helm and he began silently moving to the next figure.
After the first attack you presume you see what is happening, not what is truly going on I as the DM through dice rolls let everyone know what happened. A few rounds ago did Ody's actions go as he wanted them to, no they did not.
You tell me, I roll dice, add in factors unknown, then I tell you, simple. I can always back it up with the rules of AD&D but I choose not to be a rules lawyer DM except at these times. Sorry if that annoys you my friend.
Posted on 2013-04-12 at 21:36:20.
Edited on 2013-04-12 at 21:44:49 by TannTalas
The dice givith and the dice takith away. Our game is a hard knocks learning game. Clearity of posts is where we can hold the best chance of things going as we want but as in real life we never have perfect knownledge before hand. We can cover a situation exactly and then roll a 1 for critial fumble. I want my stuff to happen as I see it in my story eye but that isn't what always happens. Talking here helps us guess a bit better and coordinate better but that doesn't mean it will roll that way. I really hated it when I thought I was so clever to have Ulthok turn to Ooze to escape being eaten only to have him fried to death by a fireball because his AC was so bad as ooze. Tha choice came as where he tried to escape, had he move off in different direction he would have not been the effected area.
So now we just move forward using the information we gained.
These Bhuts can come back, so we need to be on guard.
And if they are tricky then that Black Robe got'sta be more then we are seeing.
If we ask questions the GM doesn't have tell everything only answer what was asked, so ask well.
Posted on 2013-04-12 at 22:56:05.
Edited on 2013-04-12 at 23:02:02 by Odyson
What happened to her 2nd attack that round? Did she just lose it? Why? Even if she lost her sword she should still get the attack yes? You did not get a second attack as you attacked a new target. Your last attack was vs. #10 who fell back wounded allowing #12 to move forward to take his place on your rt. If #10 had not fallen back and you had again attacked him you would have gotten two attacks against him.
Also, how does one get inside an opponent's shield when it is held so close to the body during battle? I want to try that next time myself. Quite easy as your arm is extended trying to hold on to your sword while using your shield to block. Ok are you saying you kept your shield tight to your body and did not maneuver it as needed to block 6 attacks??
p.s. Oh one more thing, wouldn’t a sword through your body be something of a critical hit? Shouldn’t that guy be dead? I wouldn’t think shoving a long blade though your body would be a minor injury, eh? Oh no you rolled a 20 on that attack then I rolled on the critical hits table and you ended up doing double damage and piercing the creatures chest. I just added the blade coming out it’s back for dramatic effect.
Just because you get a crit does not mean you automatically kill your enemy.
For all rolls of 20 on a 20 sided die I roll two d10’s on a critical hits chart to see the effect of the hit. If I roll a 01 that means double damage however if I roll 00 on both die that’s considered 100% and decapitation and instant death. Between that there are a number of different things that can happen including triple damage and dismemberment.
Oh and it was nice of you to tell Kaelyn to ask me about Trilogy as your right we do sometimes have a high turnover rate. However Kaelyn and I go way back to when we were both Mods on the Inn and there would be no way in hell I’d let him into Trilogy.
But it’s ok so don’t worry about it as I’m not mad at you as how could you know that after all since you were not around then.
Posted on 2013-04-12 at 23:55:58.
Edited on 2013-04-12 at 23:57:17 by TannTalas
Ok, wait a minute. I attack #10 last round, he was no longer in melee range. I attacked #12 this round with 2 attacks due in this round, but I only get one because I am not attacking the same guy as in the 1st round? Ok, that doesn’t make sense, sorry. Please point in the rule book where this is stated cause I cant find any mention of it.
Ok, I will concede the shield thing as that is obviously the way you see it, but it doesn’t make sense to me, but that is your personal rule so be it.
Ok, while I didn’t expect the Crit to kill it outright, I wouldn’t expect it would be jumping around like nothing happened. I mean Crit = Critical, as in condition. I would expect some adverse reaction even if it didn’t die. Again, I guess your call as you play it.
Sorry about the Kaelyn thing, I didn’t know.
In short, ok you are the DM and your law goes, but the whole 2nd attack thing I don’t get it.
Ok, wait a minute. I attack #10 last round; he was no longer in melee range. I attacked #12 this round with 2 attacks due in this round, but I only get one because I am not attacking the same guy as in the 1st round? Ok, that doesn’t make sense, sorry. Please point in the rule book where this is stated cause I cant find any mention of it. Honestly I’m not sure where it is listed however that is the way I have always done multiple attacks. When you have #attacks 3/2 it means 3 attacks per every two rounds with 1 attack the first round and 2 the second. The DM’s I played with always used the system that you had to attack the same creature in both rounds to get the full benefit of the 3 attacks. Kyle, Keeper, didn’t Bob do it that way when we all played with him as DM in his shed or have I been doing it wrong all these years. Or does anyone know where it’s listed and in what manual?
Ok, I will concede the shield thing as that is obviously the way you see it, but it doesn’t make sense to me, but that is your personal rule so be it.
Ok you have to remember that everything in a combat round happens at the same time. So while you’re blocking with your shield all your enemies are trying to hit you. If as you say you keep your shield close that allows the Bhuts to attack your legs or arm or any non-shield covered area. The way I see shield fighting is like how Cap America uses his shield as a blocking weapon and in AD&D there is an attack called Shield Bash that allows you to block and damage an enemy at the same time. Using the shield as such does not take away from your AC. There are also a number of Magical shields that can be hurled also.
Ok, while I didn’t expect the Crit to kill it outright, I wouldn’t expect it would be jumping around like nothing happened. I mean Crit = Critical, as in condition. I would expect some adverse reaction even if it didn’t die. Again, I guess your call as you play it. Ok the Bhut was not jumping around hmmm ever seen the John Borman movie version of Excalibur with Nigel Terry as Arthur and Nicol Williamson as Merlin? Well at the end Arthur is impaled on his evil son Mordred’s spear and further impales himself to reach the boy to kill him. The Bhut that was impaled on your sword though wounded pretty badly still got his attack and being impaled gained a +2 to hit due to your inability to move or dodge his attack.
The adverse reaction to the Critical was he took double damage and was impaled on your sword.
Sorry about the Kaelyn thing, I didn’t know. Like I said, how could you know about our mutual dislike for the other as you were not an Innmate at that time. Trust me I won’t hold it against you (Now where the hell did I put the Paladin killing kryptonite. I really gotta organize the s*** in my kill room better)
In short, ok you are the DM and your law goes, but the whole 2nd attack thing I don’t get it. Hey its ok I do not take offense. I may be the DM and it’s my game but I do follow the rules and though I do modify them at times I still follow their overall guidelines. I have never changed them to the point that I am God Moding the game. I’m no where near perfect so I make mistakes too. If you think I’m making a mistake feel free to call me on it, that’s what the Q/A is for.
Below per the Players Handbook is how multiple attacks are supposed to go in a normal table top game. However for ease of play in a PBP online game I, like a lot of the DM’s on here, lump a characters attacks into the same time initiative rather the staggering them as below. When I first started running Trilogy I did try to stagger the attacks but it became hard to keep track of who came next, what monster was attacking who, and so on. Plus it doubled the length of my posts, took me longer to write them and was just a pain in the ass.
Multiple Attacks and Initiative
Often combat involves creatures or characters able to attack more than once in a single round. This may be due to multiple attack forms (claws and bite), skill with a weapon, or character level. No matter what the reason, all multiple attacks are handled by one of two methods.
When multiple attacks are the result of different attack forms--claws and a bite or bite and tail or a ranger with his two-weapon combat ability for example--the attacks all occur at the same time. The creature resolves all of its attacks in initiative order.
When the attacks are true multiples--using the same weapon more than once--as in the case of a highly skilled fighter, the attacks are staggered. Everyone involved in the combat completes one action before the second (or subsequent) attack roll is made.
Take, for example, a fighter who can attack twice per round, and say he's battling creatures that can only make one attack. The fighter wins initiative. He makes his first attack according to the rolled initiative order. Then each creature gets its attack. Finally, the fighter gets his second attack.
If fighters on both sides in a battle were able to attack twice in the round, their first attacks would occur according to the initiative roll. Their second attacks would come after all other attacks, and would then alternate according to the initiative roll.
Posted on 2013-04-13 at 04:20:11.
Edited on 2013-04-13 at 04:25:29 by TannTalas
I knew that you would just make sure Cor got hit somehow so no problems there.
Kyles post did include "as the life left her". That I would take to mean that he checked for a pulse or some other method to determine that the life had left her. As the DM you can change it but I think that one should go to Kyle.
I will change your part of my post to reflect that you were not attacked by surprise. However the female Bhut is not dead and gets her normal attacks which I will reroll. Look for the edit sometime this weekend.
You have asked me in the past to improve some of my post when I simply post what I am doing. ie… attack with weapon, defend with shield, move to door, or some other short post; these posts really on the dice to fill in the blanks when a lot of blanks are left.
Then I can simply post I hit it on the head if it falls to the floor I cut it’s throat to kill it (death blow) please let me know what the dice say.
Then I can take my time to think about a post do what time permits and do my best to write my bit of a story to make it colorful and enjoyable for the reader, my DM, and those who walk this road with me. As I think I have done here. As pointed out I waited for the life to leave her a bit more colorful, enjoyable then simply posting I cut throat and make sure it’s dead.
I guess what I am asking my friend to consider as I have asked many times in the past. While an active player and a lurker, when a post is made that sounds good, reads well, and a notable amount of time and effort has been made by the poster of said post certain considerations should be made.
I understand the unseen happens (critical fumbles). My post left plenty of wiggle room. A missed helm attack, when I rolled her over she showed her true self and surprise attacked, as the life left her and just before Weaver made sure she was dead and relaxed his grip she pulled away and attacked to his surprise.
But to be attacked from behind by an enemy left for dead, after such a close intimate kill… wow
Allow us to defend this place and kick ass from time to time. If this is what the enemy sends on a simple raid do I really want to go into the mouth of the dragon?
I will look for the edit and try to put a post together as soon as i can afterwards so as not to slow down the game.
Ok, now I see that you play it as 3/2 against the same opponent, ok I can work with that now that I know that is the rule. Therefore, when I attacked #12 the 3/2 started over then correct? So, I got the one attack that last round and now I should be entitled to 2 this round as long as they are against #12, correct?
Ok, I see where you are coming from with the shield, understood.
I don’t know, that Bhut seemed to be jumping to me. Just kidding! I got you.
Ok, I think the Misunderstanding mainly stems from how you as a DM change the rules to fit your individual dungeons. As I learn this I get a better understanding. As long as the rules work both ways, then I can live with that.
Eh? Paladin killing Kyptonite? Oh didn’t you know, I am wearing my lead laced nightie so I am immune.
The black robe who has so far focused on Ulthok and has not even been looking to Cor suddenly turns on a sanctuaried cleric and attacks with a spell that the DM points out could be widened if necessary to hit Cor no matter how the cloak funtions. Does that sound like the DM wanted to avoid a quick end to a fight? Perhaps. Sometimes it seems that when players come up with inovative ways to use things or perform actions it backfires more often then the player is rewarded with a good outcome. Do I have an issue with it; no, it was just an observation. Whether you have an issue with it is up to you.