When this spell is cast the Wizard is able to assume the form of any creature, save those that are non-corporeal, from as small as a mouse to as large as a dragon. The wizard gains its form of locomotion and breathing but does not gain the form's other abilities(attack, magic use, special movement etc.)
So no breath weapon she can use the claws but she will not do much damage with them.
Sorry to say this but we don't get the creatures weapons when we polymorph, we only get the shape. I know it's bummer, I got that from Tann earlier when I was going to do a silver dragon. I was going to bite and claw.
Nope, no questions at all, kinda helps me a bit with the temporary no need of posting. I barely slept all weekend, and now I will have the time to concentrate on my entry for the contest so thanks hun *huggles*
That is up to you hun...I think I have enough inspiration to at least finish my story tonight. Being ressurected with this round, means that I still won't have to post until the following round. Which gives me plenty of time to finish my other writing stuff.
Posted on 2011-05-16 at 13:16:36.
Edited on 2011-05-16 at 13:20:57 by cdnflirt
I'm not even sure I have a basis for the next round. I could attack the creatures but I do not possess any of the qualities of a dragon other than the shape. So effectively I'm just a damn good illusion?
I really don't understand this btw because if you look at it from my stand point I can understand why there are no extra magical abilities given, such as breath weapons and what not. But what I would like to know is if you do not get the strengths of the creature how the hell am I flying or lifting my body. Because the dragon strength is what allows it to move its massive form. A dragon with human strength you would think would just collapse and die under its own weight.
Ok below are the official rules on both Ability and Spell to hopefully clarify the whole issue. Also remember Haila is not a Druid but a Mage Polymorphed into a Dragon.
Shapechaning (Druid Ability)
Gains the ability to shapechange into a reptile, bird, or mammal up to three times per day after he reaches 7th level. Each animal form (reptile, bird, or mammal) can be used only once per day. The size can vary from that of a bullfrog or small bird to as large as a black bear. Upon assuming a new form, the druid heals 10-60% (1d6 × 10%) of all damage he has suffered (round fractions down). The druid can only assume the form of a normal (real world) animal in its normal proportions, but by doing so he takes on all of that creature's characteristics -- its movement rate and abilities, its Armor Class, number of attacks, and damage per attack.
Thus, a druid could change into a wren to fly across a river, transform into a black bear on the opposite side and attack the orcs gathered there, and finally change into a snake to escape into the bushes before more orcs arrive.
The druid's clothing and one item held in each hand also become part of the new body; these reappear when the druid resumes his normal shape. The items cannot be used while the druid is in animal form.
Polymorph Self (SPELL)
When this spell is cast, the wizard is able to assume the form of any creature, save those that are noncorporeal, from as small as a wren to as large as a hippopotamus. Furthermore, the wizard gains its physical mode of locomotion and breathing as well. No system shock roll is required. The spell does not give the new form's other abilities (attack, magic, special movement, etc.), nor does it run the risk of the wizard changing personality and mentality.
When the polymorph occurs, the caster's equipment, if any, melds into the new form (in particularly challenging campaigns, the DM may allow protective devices, such as a ring of protection, to continue operating effectively). The caster retains all mental abilities, including spell use, assuming the new form allows completion of the proper verbal and somatic components and the material components are available. A caster not used to a new form might be penalized at the DM's option (for example, -2 penalty to attack rolls) until he practices sufficiently to master it.
Thus, a wizard changed into an owl could fly, but his vision would be human; a change to a black pudding would enable movement under doors or along halls and ceilings, but not the pudding's offensive (acid) or defensive capabilities. Naturally, the strength of the new form is sufficient to enable normal movement. The spellcaster can change his form as often as desired for the duration of the spell, each change requiring a round. The wizard retains his own hit points, attack rolls, and saving throws. The wizard can end the spell at any time; when voluntarily returning to his own form and ending the spell, he regains 1d12 hit points. The wizard also will return to his own form when slain or when the effect is dispelled, but no hit points are restored in these cases
Posted on 2011-05-16 at 17:49:02.
Edited on 2011-05-16 at 17:49:34 by TannTalas