"The magical properties of a ring of protectionare cumulative with all other magical items of protection except as follows:
1.The ring does not improve Armor Class if magical armor is worn, although it does add to saving throw die rolls.
2. Multiple rings of protection operating on the same person, or in the same area, do not combine protection. Only one such ring - the strongest- functions, so a pair of protection rings +2 provide only +2 protection."
From page 164 of the AD&D 2e DMG, regarding the Cloak of Protection:
"The device can be combined with other items or worn with leather armor. It cannot function in conjunction with any sort of magical armour, normal armour not made of leather, or with a sheild of any sort."
So in the short of it, where the cloak is not considered armor, the ring and cloak stack. However, do note the armor may not be magical or non-leather.
Happy to be of service.
Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:32:59.
Edited on 2012-04-25 at 01:33:34 by Tuned_Out
Ultimately it comes down to DM ruling, but it should, I think, represent the situation.
In my opinion, allowing this best helps a mage character, although the way it is written allows rouges to take advantage. So long as said rouge is okay with being a walking beacon for anyone with detect magic...
However it also depends on the nature of magic in the campagin, the interpretation of a cloak as either 'garment' or 'armour', etc.
Hope I'm being helpful.
Note: I normally make such items rare, thereby avioding this scenario.
Plus cloaks allow me something to use against my players... they dont trust them anymore
Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:48:43.
Edited on 2012-04-25 at 01:51:13 by Tuned_Out
Assuming a cloak isn't armor and doesn't in any way besides the +2 add to AC, thus a cloth cloak versus say a mithril one they stack as per the ring of protection rules. If however the cloak has the ability besides the magical property of helping AC such as a mithril cloak then it is armor and does not stack.
If they don't stack then what would a ring stack with? And if nothing then why not write the rules as the magical property doesn't stack?