The Red Dragon Inn - home of the Audalis campaign setting.  Online D&D gaming, art, poerty, stories, advice, chat, and more

Support the Inn! If you are doing holiday shopping online, please use this affiliate link for Amazon.
You pay the exact same prices, but the Inn earns a small referral fee. Thanks!

We currently have 4003 registered users. Our newest member is nhacaiuytin8.
Online members:
Username Password Remember me
Not a member? Join today! | Forgot your password?
Latest Updated Forum Topics  [more...]
Q&A Threads - Kith, the Cat, and the Khatun Q&A (posted by breebles)Kith, Cat, Khatun Q&A
Fantasy RPGs - The Adventures of Kith, the Cat, and the Khatun (posted by Reralae)Kith, Cat, and Khatun
Dungeons and Dragons - The Corruption Hidden Beneath the Surface... (posted by Reralae)Hidden Corruption
Q&A Threads - Hidden Corruption Q&A (posted by Bromern Sal)Hidden Corruption Q&A
Spamvertize - Facebook! (posted by breebles)Facebook!
Latest Blog Entries
Revenge of the Drunken Dice
Latest Webcomics
Loaded Dice #80: Priorities
RPG MB #15: Master of the Blade
Floyd Hobart #19: High School Reunion IV
There are currently 0 users logged into DragonChat.
Is the site menu broken for you? Click here for the fix!

You are here: Home --> Forum Home --> General Forum --> Gaming surveys --> A Question of Game Mechanics
Jump to:    1   
    Messages in A Question of Game Mechanics
RDI T-shirts!

NPC
Price: $14.00



RDI T-shirts!

Dungeon Master
Price: $14.00

TannTalas
Trilogy Master
RDI Staff
Karma: 175/117
6389 Posts


A Question of Game Mechanics

Ok Innmates gotta a question for ya................

In 2nd Edition AD&D does a Cloak of Protection +2 stack with a Ring of Protection +2 giving the wearer +4 to saves and AC.


Posted on 2012-04-24 at 22:27:36.

TannTalas
Trilogy Master
RDI Staff
Karma: 175/117
6389 Posts


Interesting

All these Innmates on and no one has an opinion Hmmmmm


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:28:14.

Eol Fefalas
Keeper of the Kazari
RDI Staff
Karma: 454/28
7883 Posts


Psh!

You got my opinion in the Tril Q&A... As much as I wish otherwise, I say the answer is no, they do not.


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:30:16.

Tuned_Out
Khash Munee
Karma: 47/0
707 Posts


Answers

According to page 148 of the AD&D 23 DMG:

"The magical properties of a ring of protection are cumulative with all other magical items of protection except as follows:

1.The ring does not improve Armor Class if magical armor is worn, although it does add to saving throw die rolls.

2. Multiple rings of protection operating on the same person, or in the same area, do not combine protection. Only one such ring - the strongest- functions, so a pair of protection rings +2 provide only +2 protection."

From page 164 of the AD&D 2e DMG, regarding the Cloak of Protection:

"The device can be combined with other items or worn with leather armor. It cannot function in conjunction with any sort of magical armour, normal armour not made of leather, or with a sheild of any sort."


So in the short of it, where the cloak is not considered armor, the ring and cloak stack. However, do note the armor may not be magical or non-leather.

Happy to be of service.

-T_O


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:32:59.
Edited on 2012-04-25 at 01:33:34 by Tuned_Out

TannTalas
Trilogy Master
RDI Staff
Karma: 175/117
6389 Posts


That's why this thread is here

To see what the overall majority thinks and I thought it would be interesting to find out. I personally agree that they do not stack.


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:33:05.

Kriea
postima prolifica
Karma: 74/7
691 Posts


*shrug*

I'ave already given my somewhat ambiguous opinion.


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:35:18.

Eol Fefalas
Keeper of the Kazari
RDI Staff
Karma: 454/28
7883 Posts


See?

That's why I quantified my answer with the "I'm not a DM" clause.


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:36:11.

Tuned_Out
Khash Munee
Karma: 47/0
707 Posts


Depends on situation

I've merely quoted the books.

Ultimately it comes down to DM ruling, but it should, I think, represent the situation.

In my opinion, allowing this best helps a mage character, although the way it is written allows rouges to take advantage. So long as said rouge is okay with being a walking beacon for anyone with detect magic...

However it also depends on the nature of magic in the campagin, the interpretation of a cloak as either 'garment' or 'armour', etc.

Hope I'm being helpful.

Note: I normally make such items rare, thereby avioding this scenario.
Plus cloaks allow me something to use against my players... they dont trust them anymore


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 01:48:43.
Edited on 2012-04-25 at 01:51:13 by Tuned_Out

Kriea
postima prolifica
Karma: 74/7
691 Posts


Evil Cloaks?

Now you have me insanely curious T_O


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 08:07:38.

Alacrity
The Tired
RDI Staff
Karma: 291/33
6312 Posts


I limit stacking

I limit the stacking of protection items to two. So you could have magic armour and a ring of protection, but no cloak. Bracers of AC 4 and a cloak of protection, but no magical armour. Etc etc etc


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 12:36:54.

Admiral
I'm doing SCIENCE!
RDI Staff
Karma: 163/50
1835 Posts


depends

Depends on how rare or common they are in your world.

If you can go down to the local ____ of protections R us, then no they don't. If an adventurer might come across a full set over the course of their career, then sure let them stack.


Posted on 2012-04-25 at 12:49:34.

t_catt11
Fun is Mandatory
RDI Staff
Karma: 357/54
6616 Posts


I agree

I would let them stack, by the way that I read the rules. Of course, magic crap is so rare in my games that I would be cruel NOT to let them stack.

Your game, your ruling.


Posted on 2012-04-27 at 21:42:20.

Jenna
Occasional Visitor
Karma: 9/1
49 Posts


I vote

Assuming a cloak isn't armor and doesn't in any way besides the +2 add to AC, thus a cloth cloak versus say a mithril one they stack as per the ring of protection rules. If however the cloak has the ability besides the magical property of helping AC such as a mithril cloak then it is armor and does not stack.

If they don't stack then what would a ring stack with? And if nothing then why not write the rules as the magical property doesn't stack?


Posted on 2012-04-27 at 21:55:03.

   
Jump to:    1   


  Partners:       Dungeons and Dragons resources, from 2nd to 4th Edition gamegrene.com | for the gamer who's sick of the typical Dungeons and Dragons Adventures, #1 resource for D&D Dungeons and Dragons 4th Edition  
View/Edit Your Profile | Staff List | Contact Us
Use of the RDINN forums or chatrooms constitutes agreement with our Terms of Service.
You must enable cookies and javascript to use all features of this site.